TOTD: Why?!?

Yesterday, I got my daily Tack of the Day email with a listing for Noble Outfitter tops. I LOVE Noble Outfitter, so I headed to TOTD to check out the goods. Sure enough, they had the 1/4 mock turtleneck show tops as well as the long sleeve mock necks, so I clicked the link. To my surprise, the short-sleeved tops were listed at $6.99!! I, and one of my boarders, instantly snatched at that deal before they ran out of inventory.

So imagine my dismay when I received this email from their manager:
Dear TOTD shopper,

I am so sorry, but the order that you placed for the Noble Outfitters short sleeved ¼ zip jersey has been cancelled, and your credit card has been refunded. Sadly, our software had a glitch and the site allowed you to purchase the shirt for $6.99, although the advertised price was $16.99. This was an error that we have corrected; the shirt is now back up on the site to be purchased at the correct price of $16.99. If you would like to purchase the short sleeved jersey shirt at the $16.99 price you will have to place a new order.

Once again, I apologize for our technical problem.

Sincerely,
Angelique L
Manager Tack of the Day

Now. I can fully see where a mistake has been made, but it was NOT a technical glitch. Someone wrongly input the price, and a $10 price difference is just too big a factor in their bottom line. However, and this is what gets me, instead of failing to acknowledge a mistake, Ms. Angelique attempted to dismiss it as a computer glitch. And THIS is something we all have to stand up against. One of the biggest problems in our society, IMHO, is failing to accept consequences of our actions. And I’ll leave it at that.

I am disappointed in Tack of the Day…but what do you think? Am I wrong for thinking a company should acknowledge their mistakes and fess up?

3 comments

  1. Genny · April 14, 2015

    I was almost in the same boat with this yesterday!! But my pricetag changed while it was in my cart! I was wondering which way they’d go on living up to their mistake. Sad to hear you didn’t get the extra discount.

  2. myeventingaddiction · April 15, 2015

    I have a ridiculous obsession with Noble

  3. Tracy · April 24, 2015

    I’ve never been impressed with TOTD’s customer service and this is just one more example. It’s too bad, really, because it totally turns me off from buying stuff from them sometimes.

Leave a Reply

