One day at a time

I’m really feeling like a crappy equine mom these days (I have to specify equine here–I do have the two-legged species, too). I’ve been beating myself up for ignoring Johnny’s now-obvious cries of pain. As I look back post-op, I can see the progression from feeling fine to OUCH. He’s such a people-pleaser, though, that he tried hard to give me what I asked, even when it hurt. I mistook his fire for a new desire to go as a result of finally being able to breathe. And, perhaps some of his exuberance was a by-product of enhanced respiration. But, watching him now, after a little tension-relieving body work, and seeing him visibly more relaxed, I can clearly see his pain. I mean, he’s not lame–he’s still tracking a full 6″ or more at the walk, playing out in the pasture, and rolling all the way over. But, he’s definitely not fully comfortable.
The good news is that the vet is coming out Wednesday. The farrier was out yesterday, and I pointed out Johnny’s left front hoof: his toe seems to be growing longer and the heel further under. I asked him if that meant we’d have to go back to shoes for correction. I also mentioned that Johnny is still ouchy in the sand arena, but is going fine in the grass. He then mentioned a very ugly word: navicular. Although Johnny didn’t appear to have any heel pain when tested, I’m adding that to the checklist for the vet to examine. We left him barefoot until the vet takes a look, in case he wants to prescribe a specific shoeing regimen.
On the happier side, Johnny is really loving this daily dose of carrot stretches. Mainly he’s really loving this new game that involves a steady stream of carrots, but he secretly enjoys the stretches, too. He’s trying very hard. He’s had a full three days off work now, so today I’m going to put him back on the longe to re-evaluate him. I know to some of you it may sound cruel, but the best recipe for managing lower back pain is steady activity. I’m not saying we’re going back into dressage or jumping work–just some light exercising to keep his back muscles working. Argue all you want, but as someone who’s dealt with low back pain for many years now, I can absolutely tell you my back pain is much less when I’m working out as opposed to resting.
Anyway, on a final note, I finally got my camera back! I took a look through the pictures this morning–there are a lot. When shooting horsey action, I typically put the camera in action mode and shoot on automatic. I know some of you are cringing, but it saves me a lot of missed shots when the sun slips behind a cloud or a horse is really dark. So, nearly all these photos need some photoshop attention. I started this morning, but the majority will have to wait until Sunday evening. Here’s a sneak peak of a few I did.

ohmygosh, it's Boyd!

ohmygosh, it’s Boyd!

One of the few good canter shots I got

One of the few good canter shots I got

I love this rider's and her pony's expressions!

I love this rider’s and her pony’s expressions!

Woo-hoo!

Woo-hoo!

The ears! For some reason, this shot said, antique me. Obviously my PS skills aren't pro-level.

The ears! For some reason, this shot said, antique me. Obviously my PS skills aren’t pro-level.

3 comments

  1. saraannon · February 7, 2014

    Dr. Green is a horses best friend- that means full time pasture turn-out where the horse is able to move, eat, and socialize at will. If you don’t have that option, the lunge line is a great help.

    • justjump3day · February 7, 2014

      Yeah. He’s out 24/7, but thanks for your helpful insight!

      • saraannon · February 7, 2014

        Good to hear- my old vet prescribed Dr. Green for most of what ails a horse. It makes all the difference in the world…and is much more cost effective to boot:)

Leave a Reply

