Mom, I forgot how big my head is. I remember now.

If it’s not one thing, it’s another. My barn manager sent a picture yesterday morning that made my heart rate race for a minute. It’s always hard to tell the severity of an injury via a photo, and often it looks worse than it actually is.
Johnny had obviously once again grossly misjudged just how large his head is and had whacked his face on the hay feeder. A half-inch to the right, and he probably would’ve taken out his eye. I swear, it’s a miracle we survive cross-country, because he has no sense of self-preservation out in the field.
Thankfully, he stood quietly as I sprayed water in his face (gently of course!) and dabbed at what must have been a fairly painful wound. I had to pick out the slivers of hay with my fingernails. I’m hoping last night’s cold spell and the nitrofurazone application will reduce the swelling. Note: Because I know there are some of you thinking it right now…the furazone is not running into his eye. As it heated up, it ran down his face. Thanks for worrying, though.

I hope he wasn't trying to take out his eye

I hope he wasn’t trying to take out his eye

My prizefighter

My prizefighter

It looked slightly better after cleaning

It looked slightly better after cleaning

One comment

  1. L. Williams · January 22, 2014

    Yikes! Hope he’s feeling better.

Leave a Reply

