30 Days to Poplar Place: Day 7 (When it rains)

When it rains, it pours. Sometimes those words are to be taken quite literally. As in, it’s pouring down rain today. Before you go calling me a wimp, let me be the first to tell you I’m not afraid to get drenched–hey, I’m in the Army: If it ain’t raining, we ain’t training! But, the ground is soupy, and there were occasional flashes of lightning. I’m brave, not stupid.
So, here we are, four days left of riding before we get on the road for a week away, and then a drill weekend after that. I keep reminding myself that’s why I started the 30 day plan 45 days out. I stayed up a little late last night since I couldn’t sleep and ended up re-reading some of my earlier training blogs. I realized this ongoing problem with Johnny appears to be a mouth issue, not a back issue. The ultimate reason for his tension is that he will not accept the bit. I’ve tried a couple of different bits, and the comfy oval-link snaffle he has right now is usually a great choice for all types, but after reading that his excessive drooling is not actually a good sign, I’m wondering if we should try something different. I know, I know! I’m starting to sound like a gadget queen here, but maybe his overly sensitive mouth needs a something more suitable for him. Thankfully, Dressage Extensions (www.dressageextensions.com) has a bit trial service. You get a 2 week trial period for $15 + shipping. If you decide to keep the bit, they deduct the rental fee from the final charge. A brilliant idea, considering most of those bits are over $150!! But, it’s an inexpensive way to determine whether or not a bit change makes any difference. When we return from Christmas vacation, I plan on trying the Sprenger Dynamic WH Ultra RS. We’ll see if the little roller and the patented anatomical design help Johnny decide to accept the bit for once.
In the meantime, it may be time for this girl to go job hunting! This sport is getting expensive! (As if it wasn’t already…)

Leave a Reply

