God IS the answer.

This post has nothing at all to do with eventing, but what I’m about to discuss is too long for a Facebook post, and I have no other blog site, so I’m posting it here.
I almost always refrain from getting involved in religious or political debates on Facebook because my friends know my stance, and I’m not the type who enjoys getting into ranting trash talk. However, reading through some of the comments and debates following yesterday’s tragedy have resulted in some thoughts sitting heavy on my heart, and I feel compelled to share them.
I believe we have liberalized our nation to the point that some people no longer fear consequences for their actions. I believe that the growing number of suicides (especially in the Army and among young folks) is a direct result of the fact that they do not fear eternal damnation.
I do not believe stricter gun control laws are going to diminish the growing number of killing sprees. I do not believe everyone should own a gun, but I believe those who wish to own one for personal protection, hunting, sporting, or collection should be allowed to do so, within reason.
I believe that God has the final judgement for my actions. Should Christianity face persecution in our nation, I will continue to hold fast to my faith.
Many people have made comments that we need to put Christ back into schools (with which I wholeheartedly agree), which has been rebutted by those who believe God does not have a place in school or politics. Here’s what I ask of atheists or those who believe God should be kept in the privacy of our own homes: what harm does praying to God, believing in God, or worshipping God do? And, perhaps you might reply that people have done some terrible things ‘in the name of God.’ You’re right–they have. But, those actions were taken out of context. What I mean to say is, there are bad eggs in every group. There’s always a nut somewhere who thinks he’s on a crusade for something. What if someone said, “I’m going on a killing spree to take out all the kids on Santa’s naughty list in the name of Santa!”? Would you think we should then remove Santa from schools?
Jesus speaks in parables in the Bible, and sometimes the parables are fairly open for interpretation, so it’s easy to see how different subsets of Christianity can differ on their meanings. But, I think most of us agree that the general idea that Jesus presents says nothing at all about killing anyone in Jesus’ or God’s names. In fact, he speaks more along the lines of turning the other cheek, etc.
What happens, unfortunately, is that, as none of us are perfect, we all fall short of the Glory of God. Thus, we sin. And, as Christians, we do some pretty terrible stuff, like lie, cheat, steal, and even murder. But we don’t do these things because we are Christians–we do them because we are human. But, what keeps us in line, for the most part, is ultimately knowing that there is an eternal hell as a consequence for our sins. And, though we cannot fathom eternity, the thought of burning alive in hell for any period of time is enough to keep us on the right track (most of the time). Yes, in the heat of passion, under duress, there have been Christians who murdered (Cain is a prime example). But, I have never heard of any Christian who mass murdered innocent children.
So, I ask, why is it wrong to pray? Why is it wrong to believe in God? If you do not believe in God, what is the point of this life? If you do not believe in God, and you lose your loved ones and possessions, why would you go on living? Wouldn’t it then be better to take your own life and end your suffering if there is nothing to be feared after death?
I am not a theological expert. I haven’t studied the Bible nearly as much as I should have, and I sure don’t have retorts for all the rebuttals you might have to my ideals. I have sinned, and I’m sure before the day is done I will sin again, but I tell you this: at the end of the day, I know my soul rests in the security of Jesus, and I will pray for yours.

Leave a Reply

