Where’s All the Good Luck Gone?

There’s a saying in the Army: if it ain’t rainin’, we ain’t trainin’! Well, there’s another adage that says, when it rains, it pours. Put the two together, and I should’ve been going at it like a triathlete getting ready for the Ironman. Instead, Johnny’s lame, and I haven’t hit the track since last week. Saturday morning, as Carson and I watched Dad feed Johnny from the dining room window, I notice a major gimp in Johnny’s step. I was about 90% ready to head to Flippin for Easter (dressed, makeup done, and hair dried), but I slipped on my muckboots and went out to examine him. Dad took Carson as he told me, “it looks like it might be a snakebite.” Snakebite was good–a horse Johnny’s size can withstand a snakebite with minimal downtime. What I didn’t want to see was a sprain or tendon damage. I saw the scrape on Johnny’s fetlock as I walked up. Indeed, from a few feet away, it resembled marks fangs would make. Unfortunately, the hanging shoe and scrape instead indicated a misstep into a rocky hole–something we have plenty of in the front pasture. The shoe at least came off easily without pulling a lot of hoof with it. It must have just happened, though, because there wasn’t any heat yet or swelling in the joint. I cold-hosed it and applied standing wraps with a DMSO/furacin sweat–something Johnny hates, but he was such a good boy.

I had hoped it would be significantly better after a day of wraps and a day off, but yesterday when I got home, he was still limping significantly. Luckily, I came armed after a quick roadside drug deal (haha, with the vet). He got the equine equivalent of ibuprofen and a topical anti-inflammatory. He sure didn’t appreciate a mouthful of nasty paste at the moment, but I bet he was thanking me about thirty minutes later when the phenylbutazone  and Surpass kicked in…

If I can keep the tornadoes from picking him up and carrying him off to Oz, I’ll be thanking my lucky stars tomorrow morning. We’re lucky, though, Vilonia was hit pretty hard, and I’m going to go ahead and give a plug for the Faulkner County SPCA: they need all the help they can get in the form of supplies and feed for livestock, horses, dogs, and cats. If you can help, they’re staging out of the Conway Livestock Barn (and you can visit their FB page–search for Faulkner County s.p.c.a.). My prayers go out to all those hit by the recent storms.

Leave a Reply

