The Countdown Has Begun

**By now it’s no secret that Ryan has left to go overseas. I’m not going to give specifics for OPSEC reasons, but I don’t think a blog about life at home is going to cause an upset.**

I was worried about what I’d do while Ryan is gone for an entire year. Good grief. 365 days. That’s a long time. I try not to think about it that way. I basically look forward to getting phone calls from friends and family, letters from anyone, anytime someone needs a volunteer for something, or anything else that gets me out of the house and engaged in adult conversation. I’m running out of one-way conversation topics (yes, after only a few days), so unless Carson or the weiners start talking back soon, I’m gonna need some form of two-way communication every day. Luckily, other military wives feel the same way, so there is no end to the number of clubs, groups, and organizations to join around here. Carson and I went to the Offiers’ Spouses Club Super Sign Up on Wednesday, and I think I joined every group they had to offer: golf club, book club, cooking club, playdate group, etc. I’m still in the search for a job, but I’m hoping all the volunteer training I added to my resume and the ensuing volunteer hours I will add will help. I also look at the positives. You may be wondering what in the world could be positive about a year long separation from your husband. Well, ladies (and gentlemen), let me just fill you in… First of all, I no longer have to check the toilet seat before I sit down. There’s no hazard of falling in the toilet at midnight. I don’t have to go behind Ryan to turn off lights and shut doors. Laundry is way easier to keep under control. I don’t have to rearrange the sheets before I climb into bed. And, since I don’t feel obligated to cook dinner every night, I don’t always eat a full meal in the evenings. Fewer dishes to be done, and fewer calories consumed. So, see? There’s always a silver lining to every cloud.

And, thank goodness for MWR and their recognition that moms (and dads) left behind on deployments need a break every now and then. Friday Date Nights (not sure why they call them that since none of us are going on dates) and Super Saturdays offer free child care so I can drop Carson off and have a day or evening to relax child-free. Or in my case, mow the lawn, clean the house, etc. I did get half the lawn mowed yesterday while Carson entertained himself and after I put him down to sleep. Unfortunately, the front yard is still six inches tall. I ran out of daylight after I put him to bed last night.

Of course, this is also less than a week into the deployment. My sister-in-law asked me how I was doing the day after Ryan left. I told her, “fine. Ask me again in six months.” My goal is to stay as optimistic and busy as possible. As long as I take it day by day and avoid dwelling on the fact that he’s gone, I don’t think I’ll have a problem. So, if you’re looking for somewhere to go, feel free to drop in and visit. Just don’t be surprised when I talk your ear off!

Leave a Reply

