I’ve Become a Stay-At-Home Mom

Vacation is here! No, not for me. You don’t take leave from being a stay-at-home mom. Well, technically, I guess I sort of did when I went to Destin with the folks, but I still had Carson with me. Oh, that doesn’t make it any less of a vacation, but I’m trying to make a point here. Actually, what I’m doing is rambling… It’s Ryan’s vacation. Today starts his eighteen day block leave. If I’d been super-expedient instead of being super-lazy, I’d have the house cleaned and Carson and I packed and ready to go. But honestly, I’m really feeling a lack of motivation to do things lately. The only thing that gets me motivated these days is cooking, but I can only cook so much, and there are dishes afterward (which are currently piled on the counter). Now before you go and get all judgmental, I’m excluding Carson from this lack of motivation blog because he is the highlight of my day everyday. I’m talking about household duties here. It’s not like my house is filthy. It’s mainly massive amounts of laundry and dishes. Probably my two least favorite chores. Normally I try and keep them manageable: I empty the dishwasher before I cook and put the dirty ones in as I go. Or, I do smaller loads of laundry every day instead of having one big laundry day. But, this whole not working thing has got me down in the dumps. I’m not meant to be a stay-at-home mom. Yes, I love every minute I spend with Carson, and when I go back to work I’ll probably cry when no one’s looking, but I’m career-minded. I have career goals that I have yet to achieve. More importantly, I’d like to go on a much-needed shopping trip. So, keep your fingers crossed and say a little prayer for me.

Leave a Reply

