Feel The Burn…

The thighs are burning. The abs are destroyed. I’d like to say I feel awesome after two days’ of workouts, but the truth is, coming back when you’ve been off for such a long time pretty much stinks. I wasn’t able to run for more than 1/4 mile at a time last night, and after twenty minutes of running/walking, I was worn out. As a matter of fact, I slept in until nearly seven thirty this morning. But, I tried on my pre-pregnancy jeans today and managed to get them past my hips, so it was a huge motivation to keep on keepin’ on. Tonight was a quick but intense ab workout, and tomorrow night I’ll work my upper body. By Friday night, I should be ready to try running again. The good news is that Ryan and I already eat pretty healthy, so at least I don’t have to change my eating habits. That bad news is eating healthy–fresh fruits and plenty of vegetables with lean proteins–is not the least expensive option. I’ve been busy self-nominating for government civilian jobs, and last night I even went so far as to start filling out an application to Wal-Mart. There are plenty of jobs around here, but the issue is that I’m either way over-qualified, or way under qualified. As a last resort, my option is to head back home to work for the Guard again, but it seems a little ridiculous to continue paying for a house that no one’s living in. Keep your fingers crossed.

On a happier note, Carson tried peas today, and though he didn’t appreciate them as much as the carrots, he didn’t turn away from them. As a matter of fact, both of us were wearing white today (didn’t think that one through very well, did I?), and at the end of the day, the only stains were on my shirt from working in the yard once Ryan got home. We managed to keep the excess peas on the bib. Success!

Leave a Reply

