Carrots and Applesauce

The sun hasn’t even set yet, and already Carson and Ryan are out for the night at seven forty-five. Even the dogs are wiped out from playing outside. I’m contemplating a late evening workout session, but it’s hard to get motivated to go run in the heat once you’ve eaten dinner. We’ll see.

First I have to brag about my son. Carson polished off a jar of applesauce and a jar of carrots today. Granted, they’re 2.5 ounce jars that he’s been working on for a couple of days, but my little man is eating (semi) solid foods! And I’m so proud of the fact that he liked the carrots better than the applesauce. Never mind that his carrot-eating adventures leave us both covered in bright orange spit up. I’m hoping he’ll love vegetables as much as his father and I do. Tomorrow we try peas. I think I’ll wear a green t-shirt. Apparently baby food stains rather readily. We’ve also now experienced the ‘carrot poops.’ Yup, as you can imagine, they’re the same color going out as they were going in. Fun stuff.

Now that Carson’s starting to become more aware of the world surrounding him, I swear he’s like a whole new baby. He is so happy nearly all of the time. It’s amazing how much he loves his Daddy, too. I was afraid he wouldn’t know Ryan simply because Ryan is gone most of the day for work, but every evening when Ryan walks in the door, Carson’s face lights up, and he starts jabbering up a storm. I hate that Ryan has to leave soon. We’ll have to take lots of video of Ryan so that Carson can watch him on TV.

Well, I think I’ve made up my mind about that run. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

