No More Sleepless Nights

For the third night in a row, Carson has slept through the night. Don’t ask me how we accomplished this; it seems like Carson just decided one night that he no longer needed to wake mom up to nurse every few hours. Yes, we have stuck to a good schedule, but he was still waking every 3-4 hours to nurse. I’m not going to question it. I only hope we can firmly plant it before we head home to Ryan’s parents’ house this weekend. I’m so scared the environment change will result in him waking every few hours again. We’ll just have to be strict about our eight-thirty bedtime routine.

I did very well, I think, last night. I checked on him at ten before I went to sleep, at three when I woke up, and again at five-thirty. I went back to bed and slept all three times. His wake up time seems to be six, but after he nurses and plays for about an hour, he goes back to bed for another hour of sleep. This is working well for now, but when I go back to work (if I can find a job), he’ll have to readjust to my work schedule and get up earlier to nurse. I don’t see that being a problem.

Meanwhile, he’s still healthy as a horse, while I’m sick as a dog (weird metaphors–who came up with these?). Chalk it up to one of the benefits of breastfeeding, I suppose. I was hoping to feel better today, since Ryan’s coming home in a few hours, but I actually feel worse. Yep, I’ve got my tissue nose plug in my left nostril. I made a special trip to Wal-Mart yesterday to buy Claritin, which I know to be safe for breastfeeding, but all it did was thin the nasal drainage. I felt like somebody had left a faucet running in my head. I’m about to Google medications safe to take while breastfeeding. We get furniture today, and I refuse to feel miserable when it arrives.

Leave a Reply

