Saturday, Saturday!

Yesterday was a pretty good day for me and the little guy. I wish Ryan could have been with us–it was a perfect Saturday for a family outing, but I’m trying to get used to doing it on my own. It’s hard not to get really excited about him coming home, and he’s only been gone a little over 3 weeks. A year will be, well, I just don’t want to dwell on that right now. Thank goodness Carson gets more interactive everyday. It’s definitely better than talking to the weiners (the dachshunds, if you’re just now joining in).

We (I) needed to get out of the house for a change of scenery. Although I will miss spending my days with Carson, I am looking forward to finding a job and going back to work. We headed to Wal-Mart first because, well, it’s Wal-Mart. I grew up in a town where there was nothing better to do as a teenager than wander aimlessly around Wal-Mart and Books-A-Million. Exciting, I know. If you’re ever in Searcy, Arkansas you’ll know what I’m talking about. I needed a few toiletry items, but I was also on the lookout for a small tree to replace the dead evergreen that was in the landscape spot when we moved in. I wanted a Japanese Maple or a weeping cherry–something small that packs a lot of punch but easy care. I didn’t figure I would find one at Wal-Mart, and I didn’t, so we headed to Lowe’s next.

Although it’s not nearly the blazing hot sauna that Arkansas or Georgia starts becoming around this time, it was rather warm with the bright sun searing down. And, of course, all the plants, trees, and shrubs are outdoors. I started out looking for the cherry–I’ve always wanted one, and on any other day, I might have found one, but since I was starting to sweat, I knew Carson was getting warm in his car seat. I quickly found the little maples. Since they can be expensive, I picked out a 2 gallon container. I put it in our cart and headed to the checkout. Unfortunately, everyone else in Hopkinsville had the same idea as me, and they were all in line. Just my luck, though, another checker came over to open another line. Yes! I quickly scooted over to his line. There was only one person in front of me, and he only had two little items (the lady I was behind in the other line had a cart full of flowers and shrubs). Somehow, though, the checker managed to take 15 minutes to scan and bag those two things. And then, when it was finally my turn, with my one little tree, all he needed to do was scan it so I could pay and we could leave. But, I had picked the one tree that didn’t have a hanging tag, and when he scanned the barcode, it rang up twice the price that I had seen. Great. And of course, about that time Carson started to wake up, and he was not happy. I offered to run back and grab another tree, since there was a line behind me, but instead, he took off on his own. You’d think someone who worked there would know where to find at least the small tree section, but nope, I saw him running all over the back of the place. What is it with me and crappy customer service lately? It took me heading back there myself to show him the tree, and here’s why it rang up wrong: turns out the 2 gallon and the 2.75 gallon containers were all mixed up, and for 3/4 a gallon more, it was twice the price. That’s some odd logic, but whatever. I grabbed a 2 gallon tree (about 3 inches shorter) and headed back to the front, where customers were rapidly lining up. At least I still had my place in line. I checked out, threw the tree in the car, and cranked up the a/c.

By the time I got home, I was starving, and it was time for Carson to eat as well. Luckily, he went down for a nap right after nursing, so I could get some lunch. And then he slept long enough for me to plant my new tree. In fact, he took a perfect nap, and woke up in a pretty good mood. Before he could get his bedtime fussy going, I loaded him in his stroller, and we went for a walk. He was nearly asleep when we got back to our driveway, so we took another lap around the cul-de-sac. He was so out of it that he didn’t even wake up when I picked him up out of his carrier. However, he woke right up when I put him down in his crib! Oh well, it was a good try. It only took another hour of rocking and soothing to get him to sleep. But, then he ended up sleeping really good last night. So, all in all, not a bad day!

Leave a Reply

