Carson and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

Today was absolutely horrible. First of all, Carson wanted to be held all morning, so getting ready for his 1000 appointment was a nightmare. Somehow I managed to get showered, dressed, and get my hair dried, though I did not get my legs shaved. We won’t discuss how badly they need it. And, somehow we made it to the doctor’s office on time.

Then, a little bit of good news: Carson has made it to the 50th percentile in height and weight. I was so relieved to hear that. He’s grown so much in such a short time. But then, it all went downhill…vaccinations. Not just one, but FOUR. Three shots in his poor little thighs. Luckily the fourth was drops. He did surprisingly well, only crying for a couple of minutes. Since my tylenol was recalled, I stopped by the drugstore to pick up some acetaminophen. He barely got it swallowed before he was asleep. And sleep he did. In fact, he only woke briefly to nurse a little before going back to sleep. He slept through Wal-Mart. He slept through the post office. But, then, he woke up. And suddenly it all went downhill very fast. He woke up right at the four hour mark when his tylenol wore off. And he screamed. And screamed. And screamed. Then he took a deep breath and screamed some more. I was nearly in tears with him I felt so bad. He screamed for what seemed like an eternity. Calling the doctor wasn’t helpful. The nurse just said that his reaction was normal, that I should just try to comfort him and maybe try some cold compresses. Yeah, we tried those. I didn’t think it was possible for him to scream harder, but it was.

And then finally, just when I was ready to load him into the car and head back to the doctor’s office, the tylenol kicked in and he stopped screaming. He quieted down to the saddest little whimpers I’ve ever heard, but it was much better than the screaming. After another hour of comforting, soothing, and nursing, he finally fell asleep. I put him in our bed, and set the monitor next to him.

It was time to tackle the 2 foot tall jungle expanse of a lawn that had exploded while we were gone. I clipped the monitor on my shorts and headed out to get started. It took 2 hours, two refuels, and multiple restarts when the mower clogged with clumps of grass, but I got the job done. By the end, though, thoughts of a blue, lifeless Carson were streaming through my head, and it was all I could do not to just abandon the job unfinished. I put the mower away and all but ran to the bedroom. And there he was, sleeping peacefully where I’d left him. I could breathe again.

Leave a Reply

