It’s Just Me, the Dogs, and a Baby

Carson and I are alone today. It’s just like any other day except Ryan isn’t a few miles away. He’s on his way to JRTC–training for the mission in Afghanistan. So far it’s not too bad, but I’m sure tonight will be different. And really, the first few nights will be good. It’s the next week, and the week after that will be hardest. After a few nights of being a ‘single’ mother, I may be in tears begging for relief. At least the morning started off well. I got dishes in the dishwasher, a load of laundry in the machine, and called two providers to find doctors for Carson and me.

Unfortunately, when I went to the Tricare service center to drop off our paperwork, the office was closed, with no indication why. Typical Army civilians. Why am I turning in paperwork? Apparently when you move from one region to another, i.e. from Fort Benning to Fort Campbell, you have to re-enroll in Tricare. It’s a good thing Tricare doesn’t cost anything, because it sure is a big pain in the rump.

Since Carson was diagnosed with reflux and prescribed Zantac, he’s been sleeping so much better (and longer). In fact, once I get him settled for the night (anywhere from 8-10 these days), he’s been sleeping four hours his first stretch. After that, he’s too sleepy to nurse until full, so he’s awake every two hours for another meal. But, hey, those first four hours of sleep are priceless! As a matter of fact, I should probably wake him up now so that I will get some sleep tonight…

One comment

  1. Sarah · May 18, 2010

    Aww… I hope the past few weeks were easier than you anticipated! Audie was in the NICU 2 1/2 months and when she finally came home, Matt left for the field less than 12 hours later – I was SO overwhelmed! Even when he left for RS I was a bit worried about how I’d do solo… in the end, it’s all been a really good confidence booster for me, but that doesn’t change the fact that it would just be better if they weren’t away so much!

Leave a Reply

