Back to My Roots

After a stormy evening reminiscent of home, the skies today give no indication that we had tornado warnings last night. In fact, the weather is so beautiful outside, it’s hard to stay indoors. But, it’s a little windy and too cool to bring Carson out, so I’ve had to be satisfied with a short outdoor session. I managed to get tomato seeds in starter pots, remove a dead shrub from the landscaping, and pull all the weeds that have been driving me crazy. All in all, a pretty decent morning, and I’ve opened the windows so I can get fresh air and hear the birds.

Yesterday Ryan and I hit up a nearby flea market in my search for the perfect plants to add to the ambiance of our new home. Ever since we moved in, I’ve had visions of blooming azaleas, bountiful hostas, and multitudes of greenery just like we had growing up. Unfortunately, Ryan and I don’t see eye to eye when it comes to landscaping. He only likes greenery and shrubs; he can’t stand most things that flower. So, when I pointed out beautiful flowering camelias, impatiens, and other blooming plants, all he could say was, “I don’t like that.” He followed that up by saying, “you just get what you want.” Sigh. In the end, I walked out of Wal-Mart with heirloom tomato seeds and two containers of impatiens (I chose the darker leaved variety and pointed out they only bloom for a short while). I thought about buying tomato seedlings–it certainly would have been easier and probably cheaper, but for some reason, the need to grow something from a seed was overpowering.

Actually, I suppose I was just feeling overly domestic, because I also felt the sudden urge to experiment in the kitchen. I took stock of the ingredients I had and searched the web to find a recipe that uses cake mix, sweetened condensed milk, and cream cheese. I couldn’t find one that was appealing, so I thought, what the heck. The worst that could happen is I have to throw out the results. So, I whipped up a new dessert. I won’t post the recipe yet, because I still have some tweaking to do, and I haven’t come up with a name, but it’s basically ‘cheesecake within a cake’ bars. Ryan has told me I’m not allowed to make it again because he can’t stop eating it, so I know I’m on the right track. After that I whipped up a pork tenderloin and homemade mashed potatoes for dinner. I have to get it out of my system now: when I go back to work and Ryan deploys, I won’t have the time, energy, or enough hungry mouths to cook for.

So, this morning, since Ryan’s friend stayed overnight, I whipped up a country frittata for breakfast. I’ll give you this recipe–it’s easy to whip up and feeds a family in thirty minutes or so.

6 Large Eggs

2 Small to Medium sized Potatoes (Yukon Gold work great), peeled and cut into bite-sized pieces

4 Strips of Thick Cut Bacon, diced

1/2 Package Frozen Spinach, thawed and drained very well (Or, if you have it on hand, a handful of fresh baby spinach works great)

1/2-1 Cup of Shredded Cheddar Cheese (use 1/2 to 1 cup depending on preference)

Preheat oven to 350.

In an oven-safe skillet (I use my granny’s cast iron skillet), toss all the ingredients except eggs and cheese and lightly season with salt and pepper. In a large bowl, whip eggs with a whisk until air is incorporated (one or two minutes is fine). Season eggs with salt and pepper, then pour over potatoes, spinach, and bacon. Sprinkle cheese liberally over the top. Transfer skillet to the oven and bake for 30 minutes or until cheese is bubbly and eggs are turning golden on the top. Slice into wedges and serve slices with warm French bread or toast. Refrigerate leftovers–makes an excellent brunch or light lunch for the next day!

3 comments

  1. Judith Shoffner Diehl · April 27, 2010

    I have so enjoyed reading your blogs. I remember reading your assignments and you always wrote about horses. You have a wonderful talent (which I always knew) and I am so glad I ran across these stories. I have laughed, cried, and commiserated with you. It is such a joy to be a mother. I am so glad you are using your talents to tell your story. You were a wonderful student, and I see that you are also a wonderful wife and mother. Thanks so much for sharing.

  2. AffiftRORIpat · May 23, 2010

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

  3. Sarah · May 26, 2010

    did you see the sign on the way to Hopkinsville for the hosta farm? I LOVE hosta gardens and if Ryan’s not into blooms, they give nice color/texture with only some “afterthought” flowers

Leave a Reply

