‘Happy’ Hunting

House hunting is never a lot of fun, but I have discovered that it is truly heinous when you have a three week old baby with you. Ryan and I had done our homework ahead of time, so Carson and I had several to check out that looked good on paper. I was excited about the first house because it sounded perfect: 3 bedroom, 2 bath, big bonus room, large fenced in yard, 2 car garage…just what we needed. Unfortunately, the only thing that was perfect was the fenced in yard. The rooms were all very small, and we won’t even discuss the kitchen. Oh well, I still had three more that sounded great, so I thanked the realtor and went on my way.

The next house was further off post than the rest. I talked with the owner and made an appointment to see the house later that afternoon, but I wanted to check it out beforehand since the soonest she could see me was five o’clock and I was under a bit of a crunch to find a place before the movers got here with our stuff (and of course I had no idea when that would be). So, Carson and I headed out to a tiny little town in Kentucky. I don’t even remember the name of the sleepy town, but after a fifteen minute winding drive through gorgeous Kentucky pastures and farms, I was expecting something spectacular. Once again I was let down. The town was great if you were an older retired couple looking to get away from it all, but for a couple with a brand new baby, it was missing a major attraction: a place to buy emergency diapers in the middle of the night! Not to mention, if Ryan and I had to drive fifteen minutes every morning for work (minus time added for morning traffic) or any time we wanted to go out to eat, we’d go crazy. I didn’t strike it from the list in case the others didn’t work out, but it was definitely at the bottom.

I still had a little time before lunch, and Carson was sleeping great in the car seat, so I decided to check out another possibility on our list. It was in a nice older subdivision and looked promising. The backyard was huge with lots of great big old oak trees. I started to get excited, but I couldn’t get the realtor to call me back. I decided to take a lunch break and try her again later. Of course, I was just about to grab lunch from a drive-through when Carson woke up and started screaming for his lunch. In the two minutes from Arby’s to lodging, I managed to wolf down my curly fries so I had a little something in my tummy. I managed to get me, Carson, the diaper bag, my purse, and my Arby’s upstairs to our room, throw everything down (not the baby of course), and get Carson nursing. I was still hungry, though, so I thought I’d attempt to eat my roast beef sandwich while I nursed him. And actually, it went really well. I only found five sesame seeds on Carson throughout the day later on! Once Carson and I were nourished, the lack of sleep kicked in, and I really wanted a nap. I think I may have dozed off for a second, but of course my phone rang just as I was relaxing. Time to get back to work checking out houses.

I checked the military website again to see if we had missed any houses, but it wasn’t looking promising. I did get in touch with the realtor on the house I had checked out, though, and she agreed to meet me in five minutes. So, I loaded Carson back into the car seat, grabbed my purse, and the diaper bag, and headed downstairs to the car. Once the car seat was strapped in, we were off. I was so excited because this house seemed so promising. Once again, I was to be disappointed. It had plenty of space, but the carpets were filthy, the bathrooms were worn out and in need of remodeling, the ceiling fans looked older than me, and the laundry nook was disgusting. There was also a smell that I knew would not easily be removed. So, Carson and I got back in the car. It was now down to the two appointments I had later that afternoon. I knew the one out in podunk Kentucky was going to be a no-go, but I was afraid that if I waited until the eight o’clock appointment, we’d really be out of luck. I was starting to get desperate. I started driving around the newer neighborhoods looking for rent signs. I found a cute little number with a For Rent sign and called the company. Unfortunately, this one wasn’t available until July, but she told me to check out their website for other properties available. After a fruitless drive and getting turned around in a subdivision construction site, I headed back to the room, worried we wouldn’t find a place.

After lugging Carson, the diaper bag, and my purse up the stairs for what seemed like the thousandth time, I attacked the internet again, desperately looking for a place that met all our needs. I almost forgot to look at the Top Flight website. I’m so glad I looked, though, because suddenly, there it was! The rent house of our dreams (haha, or so it seemed on the webpage). I immediately called about it, but the realtor wasn’t available to show me the property until Monday. I let her know how urgent it was that I see the property immediately, and luckily, she was able to find someone to show me the house. When I pulled up to the driveway, I was not happy to see an unfenced yard, but I was still hopeful. When I walked in and saw the living room, and then the kitchen, I had to bite my tongue. I managed to check out the rest of the house before I blurted, “How soon can we sign a lease?” The realtor looked at me like  I was crazy, so I told him that it had been a long day of searching, and this place was perfect. I called Ryan and told him I was making an executive decision, which made him a little nervous, but I set my foot down. He ended up rolling into town in time to meet me at the realty to fill out the lease application.

One comment

  1. sami Alam · April 9, 2010

    it was one of the wonderful post i’ve seen…
    outstanding balance of stuffzz….
    Amazing work….

    Visit mine and plz plz plz post your comments…

    Thank you…i’ll b in touch….

Leave a Reply

