Growing Baby

I’m definitely waiting too long between posts. I can’t remember where I’ve left off, and I don’t really want to go back and re-read it because I’ve already started this post, so I’ll just guess. Which, to be perfectly honest, is not really that great of an idea considering my memory these days is equivalent to an 80 year old’s (or my mom’s–about the same). But, nevertheless, we’ll give it a go.

I’m now in my 14th week, and I’ve decided that other than the horrible acne and crippling constipation, pregnancy really isn’t that bad. I mean, you lose about 9 weeks of your life sleeping all the time because you’re so tired you can’t get off the couch or out of bed for more than 15 minutes at a time, and your memory leaves you saying, “did I leave the light on?” 5 seconds after you’ve left the room, but other than that, oh, and the horrible acne that makes you look 15 years old (if it wasn’t for all the gray hairs and wrinkles sprouting every 5 minutes) and the constipation that ultimately gives you hemorrhoids, really, pregnancy isn’t that bad! (For the record, I don’t have hemorrhoids, but I’ve heard they’re fairly common in pregnancy, so I’m not counting them out.)

Meanwhile, I’m more or less sprouting a bump that looks kinda like I might be pregnant, or, I could just be fat. By the afternoons, though, I’m carrying so much water weight I look like I’m about 6 months along! Given that I’m just 3 1/2 months, I’m a little worried that we might be growing a big baby. I may be begging the doctor to induce labor at 30 weeks! Did I mention the ultrasound technician already said little Peanut is big for his (or her, but we’re all pretty sure it’s a boy) size. Great. I do hope you all realize that if we have a boy, we’ll never hear the end of, “I told you I only produce males,” from Ryan.

Well, my days as a working woman here in Arkansas are coming to a close (thank goodness). My orders run out on the 30th, and then I have drill the first weekend of October before I get to head back to Georgia. Unfortunately, Ryan’s still in the field that week, but he’s getting a 4 day pass for Columbus Day, so he’ll finally get to come to one of my doctor’s appointments, at which, incidentally, we’re supposed to find out the sex of the baby. Everybody cross your fingers and hope that RJ cooperates!

Leave a Reply

