It’s hot in Georgia!

Well, another day, and I’m still trying to get caught up on housework. It seems the more I do, the more there is to do! I did get two sections of floor completely done. As soon as I figure out where I’m going to put all the rest of my TA-50 (military gear), I’ll get started on the upstairs and the living room and dining room/recording studio. Oh yeah, did I mention that Ryan turned our dining room into a rock band stage? I’m tempted to go buy a dining room table so I can ask him where the heck we’re going to put it!!

I got another plant in the ground yesterday. Had to wait until nearly 8pm to do it because it’s so hot, but it was fairly quick work thanks to Dora and her ground turning techniques (aka digging holes in the back yard). She watched me the whole time like, “but Mom, where am I going to dig now?” Now the backyard looks like you might actually want to spend some time out there!

I had planned on cooking Pad Thai last night for dinner, even went to the international foods store and picked up all the authentic Thai spices, but Ryan ended up not getting home until 1130 last night. He’s on an OPFOR detail (playing bad guy for the infantry class) for this jerk Major who likes to abuse lieutenants. Seriously, the guy is a real jerk. Anyway, Dora and I stayed up waiting for him, and now I’m contemplating going back to bed. I got up when he did at 0630, which isn’t normally early for me, but it sure seemed like it this morning. I don’t know how he’s doing it. He said he can sleep out there, but it’s going to be so hot today (already overwhelming at 0730) I don’t know how he’ll be able to sleep.

I got a pot roast going first thing this morning so I don’t have to worry about dinner this evening. Friday evening Ryan’s inviting a few guys over from the LTO, and I’m making black and bleu bacon burgers, sweet potato fries, baked potato salad, jalapeno poppers, deviled eggs, spinach wontons, and bratwursts. So, I have to have the house done by tomorrow night so I can spend all day Friday prepping for the party. So good to be back home!

Leave a Reply

