Radioactivity

Hello all!

Phew! One more day, and this week will be over. Of course, we’re only going to start it over again in 2 days, but at least this week will be over. We’ve been going over Radioactive Materials–lots of stuff that for OPSEC (operational security) reasons I can’t discuss, but know that it is 21 chapters of guidelines covering everything from how to measure radioactivity, to safety precautions, how to ship radioactive materials, and just how much radiation a human can receive without croaking.

We’ve been going in the labs everyday, and everytime we enter, they ask, “does anyone want to declare a pregnancy?” I’m not pregnant, but that question always makes me a little nervous! Rest assured, the dosage we’re receiving is minimal to none, so there’s not much of a risk factor for us.

Well, I don’t know how many of you know it, but I’ve been searching for a horse (I may have mentioned that in a previous blog…). Today I got a message from a friend of mine back in Arkansas, and she knows of a FREE horse! Now, before you go cautioning me, remember, “Never look a gift horse in the mouth.” 🙂 Ryan was pretty excited until I said, “well, since this one’s free, that means I get to buy another, right?” Haha! Of course, he said no. He’s still learning the laws and principles of shopping. (If it’s half-off, you get to buy another, etc) Anyway, the horse is in Rogers; he’s 16.3 hands, dark bay, and somewhere around 15 years old. I’m going to go check him out when I get a chance.

By the way, do any of you remember about how old you were that sleeping on the couch resulted in being stiff all day the next day? In case you were wondering, it’s probably around your 30s. I had staff duty last night from 4:30pm to 6:15am, and although I did get about 6 hours of sleep, they were spent on the office couch, and thus extremely unsatisfying. I’m still wondering what staff duty has to do with learning how to be a chemical officer…

Anyway, it’s rain, rain, rain here in ‘beautiful’ Fort Leonard Wood. Haha!!! I’m beginning to think I may need to build an ark soon. I miss the sunshine!

Keep the comments coming–I love hearing from you guys!

This mini-waterfall was the result of some of the rains here

This mini-waterfall was the result of some of the rains here

2 comments

  1. Donna · May 18, 2009

    Happy Anniversary! Love you both!

  2. gorman · June 9, 2009

    Where is my report?

Leave a Reply

